A Brief Guide to Six Sigma Certification And Its Benefits


Six Sigma, is a method used to eliminate errors, minimize defects, enhance output, and provide many other benefits for an organization. However, it is so complicated that only qualified Six Sigma professionals can successfully implement it in an organization.

The only way to learn the Six Sigma methodology is to obtain a Six Sigma Certification. Thanks to technology, you can now learn Six Sigma online and write an exam to qualify for a certification.

The various levels of Six Sigma Certifications follow a well-defined hierarchy, where each group represents a certain level of skill, knowledge, experience, and training. What are the multiple levels of the program, what is the certification all about, and how is it useful?

Belts in Six Sigma certification program

There are five belts (levels) in the 6 Sigma certification program. These are white, yellow, green, black, and master black. Each level corresponds to a specific level of training and achievement.

White belt

The white belt is the first level in the Six Sigma certification where the basic concepts are introduced.

Some of these are understanding the customers’ needs, identifying solutions, measuring current performance, and learning how to define projects. The topics usually covered in this program are the Six Sigma overview, the definition of phase, and concept deployment.

Anybody can join the program at this stage. Newcomers work with problem-solving teams to help out with projects. White belts are also involved in change management within an organization or company.

Yellow belt

By the time the participants reach this stage, they are thoroughly familiar with the Six Sigma concepts and their application.

Here, they are introduced to the DMAIC sub-methodology. Just like the white belt, there are no eligibility criteria for the yellow belt level.

Some of the topics covered are process mapping, Six Sigma overview and failure mode effect analysis, or FEMA. Yellow belt holders can manage small projects within the organization and join the projects teams as members.

Green belt

Green belt holders are familiar with advanced analysis and can solve quality-related problems. To enroll in this program, a participant must have at least three years of work experience.

Tools and methods that are necessary for DMAIC improvement projects are introduced at this level. A few other topics covered are process variables mapping, capability studies, waste identification, and introduction to statistical and graphical analysis.

Green belt holders are expected to close the gap between theory and application, improve outputs, control costs and use data to enhance processes.

Black belt

A black belt certification program requires a participant to possess three years of work experience and complete at least two Six Sigma projects.

The topics covered are MS expertise, process variable mapping, hypothesis testing, failure modes and effects analysis (FMEA), statistical process control, and project presentations.

Apart from heading teams in problem-solving projects, black belt certificate holders provide training to other project teams since they understand a team’s dynamics.

Master black belt

Possessing a master black belt certificate means having the highest expertise, skill, and knowledge in Six Sigma methodology.

All participants must have black belt certificates, five years of work experience, and have completed at least ten Six Sigma projects to enroll in this program.

Some of the topics covered in this level are Minitab basic graphs, variation analysis, nested and destructive MSA, distributional analysis, and total factorial reviews.

A black belt certification enables an employee to develop strategy, act as consultants, coach green and black belts, provide classroom training, and assist the company in different business areas.

How does having a Six Sigma certification help you?

Having a  Six Sigma certification helps your career prospects, including a higher salary. Companies often look for employees with experience in six Sigma.

A white certificate holder has various career opportunities, including production line manager, principal project engineer, and quality assurance manager.

If you have a yellow belt certificate, you can consider a career in the quality management sector. And, having a green certification will help you build a career in multinational corporations.

Process management experts and business analysts are two career choices for black belt holders. Getting a Six Sigma Certification will also enhance your chances of growing in your present company and managing various roles and responsibilities.

How does Six Sigma certification help businesses?

Just as a Six Sigma certification helps employees with their career development, it benefits businesses and organizations in many ways.

Primarily, it helps to win the customers’ and stakeholders’ confidence. A company with Six Sigma certified professionals shows that it is interested in quality output and reducing errors.

It also helps in team building within the organization as teams are built based on these principles. Every group is assigned a particular role and responsibility, which ensures a higher collective output.

Since the Six Sigma program consists of several levels, employees are always motivated to achieve higher belts.

These are the five levels and belts offered in a Six Sigma Certification program. Being Six Sigma certified will undoubtedly prove to be highly beneficial for your career and your organization in the long run.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here