Life becomes challenging when you’re unable to drive. How will you get to work? What about getting groceries, going to doctor’s appointments, or making it to that important meeting?
If you live in New Jersey, these every-day tasks can become impossible when your license is suspended.
So how do you reinstate your driver’s license? Where do you go and how much does it cost to get your license reinstated? Are there required classes or probationary periods?
Fortunately, the process to reinstate your driver’s license in New Jersey is rather simple.
Are You Eligible to Reinstate Your License?
First-things-first, confirm if you’re eligible to reinstate your license.
You can do so by contacting the Motor Vehicle Commission (MVC) at (609) 292-6500 where a staff member can review your driver history abstract. This will contain all the information related to your driver’s license, including how many points you have and why it was suspended.
They’ll also be able to tell you if you owe fines to the MVC and what those costs are. If you have outstanding fines, they’ll confirm if you need to contact a court or if there’s a timeline for paying your fees, prior to being summoned.
Additionally, if you were suspended as an Uninsured Motorist, you’re required to either:
- Submit a photocopy of your current New Jersey Insurance ID card for your vehicle(s)
- Submit a photocopy of your current insurance policy describing the vehicle(s) and coverage to:
FAX: 609-777-3178 or 609-777-3179
Email: [email protected]
PO BOX 132
Trenton, NJ 08666
In certain cases, you’re required to complete a Defensive Driving Course or an Intoxicated Driving Program (IDP) prior to reinstating your license.
Occasionally, you’ll be required to get a copy of your driver history abstract. You’ll need to fill out an Abstract Request Form and pay a $15 check to the address listed on the form. Alternatively, you can purchase a copy online at the MVC site, under Driver History Abstract. You can contact the MVC number above for more information.
If you have concerns about reinstating your license, you can reach out for legal advice concerning your specific situation.
How Do You Remove Points From Your Driving Record?
Points can be deducted from your driving record based on a number of accomplishments:
- Complete a Defensive Driving Program — deduct 2 points
- This can only be used to deduct points once every five years
- Complete a Driver Improvement Program — deduct 3 points
- This must be proposed by the MVC and can only be used to deduct points once every two years
- Complete a Probationary Driver Program — deduct 3 points
- This must be ordered by the MVC and can only be completed once
Once you’ve deducted the necessary points off your license, you can continue to deduct points by driving safely.
- Drive for one full-year without any violations or suspensions — deduct 3 points
- The year starts on the date of your most recent restoration or violation
Confirm with the MVC if you’ve deducted the necessary points to proceed with reinstating your license.
How Much Does It Cost to Get Your License Reinstated?
If you have no outstanding court-order suspensions and you’ve confirmed with the MVC you’re eligible to restore your license, you’ll be required to pay a $100 license restoration fee to reinstate your license.
Confirm your license has not expired. If not, you have three options for submitting your $100 license restoration fee:
- Online at the New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission website
- In-person at a nearby MVA
- Or by mailing a check or money order, payable to NJMVC
If you have your suspension notice, include the bottom portion and mail to:
New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission
P.O. Box 140
Trenton, NJ 08650-0140
If you do not have your suspension notice, mail your payment to:
New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission
P.O. Box 134
Trenton, NJ 08650-0134
If you are submitting payment through the mail, provide your driver’s license number and proof of payment for any additional fines. You will receive a notice in the mail once the Motor Vehicle Commission processes your payment.
If your license has expired during your suspension period you will need to renew it in person. This will be an additional registration restoration fee of $100 where you will be required to provide six-points worth of identification, your proof of address, and an additional $24 fee to get your new license, totaling $224.
A list of the six-point verification system can be found here.
And if you haven’t driven for more than three years, confirm with the MVC if you’re required to retake a written or road test.
What Comes Next?
Depending on the terms of your suspension, you may be subject to a probation period. Committing another violation during this period can lead to further suspension.
Here’s a list of the suspension period, per new violations:
- Within six months — 90-day suspension
- Seven to nine months — 60-day suspension
- 10 to 12 months — 45-day suspension
- Within six months — 180-day suspension
- Seven to nine months — 120-day suspension
- 10 to 12 months — 90-day suspension
- Within three years — up to a three-year suspension
Therefore, before you get back on the road, make sure you receive your new driver’s license and written permission from the MVC confirming your driving privileges are restored.
The last thing you want is to learn you’re subject to an additional penalty and suspension due to a misunderstanding or clerical error.
Once you’ve received your license and written permission from the MVC that your suspension has been lifted, you’re good to go.
Congrats on Getting Back on the Road!
How much does it cost to get your license reinstated? Depending on your situation it can be anywhere from $100-$224, not including any associated fines.
Hopefully, you are able to get back to doing your daily tasks now that you know where to go and how much it costs to get your license reinstated.